Cabbage Leaf Tacos

I know that name sounds not only like a super interesting blog post, but also a really delicious way to wrap up your tacos…(where’s my sarcasm font?). But seriously, these things are amazing. Like something out of a Paleo Taco Truck. Speaking of which, why haven’t I come across a Paleo food truck at all? Get on board with it food truck people!

It’s hard to find a substitute for taco shells, but cabbage leaves really do the trick. I can’t exactly take credit for coming up with the idea, because a friend of mine on Facebook posted a pic on my page of tacos wrapped in purple and green cabbage leaves. Using lettuce to wrap things formerly wrapped in gluten and grain is pretty lame in my opinion. Who wants to wrap a taco in wilty lettuce? Gag. I want my taco shells crispy and crunchy. And cabbage is PERFECT.

These tacos are also a perfect way to use leftover roast, even if that roast didn’t come out so fantastic. Which is exactly what happened to me the other night. I never have any luck with roast in the crock pot. I don’t know what the deal is. They’re never juicy and tender and falling apart like my moms. So I had all this leftover meat and I sure as hell wasn’t going to throw it away. I also had an avocado and some cabbage that needed to be used. Thus, Cabbage Leaf Tacos for lunch today! There was enough meat left that there is also a beef stew currently simmering on my stove for dinner. One roast, 3 meals…I call that $20.00 well spent (even if the first meal didn’t knock my socks off, the tacos made it totally worth it!)

Cabbage Leaf Tacos

About 1 lb roast, cooked, diced into teeny tiny pieces

One large bell pepper, diced

half an onion, diced

2 1/2 tablespoons bacon grease (or whatever fat or oil you prefer)

6 cabbage leaves

Taco seasoning (I make my own)*

Guacamole or 1 avocado

1/2 bunch cilantro

Melt 2 tablespoons of bacon grease in a large frying pan. Add onions and bell pepper, sauteing over med-low heat until onions are translucent and bell pepper is crisp-tender. Add roast and taco seasoning, stirring every couple of minutes until heated through. Image

Remove taco mixture and set aside. Melt remaining 1/2 tablespoon bacon grease in frying pan. Remove 6 whole cabbage leaves from head of cabbage. Cut out the thick part that was attached at the center of the cabbage. This step isn’t imperative, I just don’t like that part of the cabbage. Place cabbage leaves in pan, keeping heat on med-low. Cook until edges touching pan start to brown, flip over, and cook until those edges brown a bit as well. Fill cabbage leaves with about 4 tablespoons of taco mixture each, topping with guacamole or avocado slices and cilantro. Fold excess cabbage over itself and enjoy!

Image

*Taco Seasoning

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon dried oregano

2 teaspoons red chile powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (more if you really want to bring the heat! This amount was appropriate for my 3 year old to eat without complaining that it’s too “picee”)

One thought on “Cabbage Leaf Tacos

  1. Yummo!!! I’m not a huge cabbage fan, but this sounds good! And thanks for the recipe for the homemade taco seasoning. I vowed to stop buying premade stuff.

Leave a Reply

